You are here

Reinsalu: the government discusses the implementation of the EU Council recommendation on Thursday

1. July 2020 - 11:24

Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu said the Council of the European Union yesterday reached an agreement on passengers arriving from third countries.

“The member states will independently decide on implementing the recommendations of the Council’s decision. On Thursday, the government will discuss in more detail how Estonia would apply the recommendation,” Reinsalu said.

The agreement reached at the Council of the European Union on 30 June recommends lifting the restriction on non-essential travel into the EU+ region for residents of 15 countries. According to the recommendation, as from 1 July member states should start lifting travel restrictions on non-essential travel at the external borders for residents of the following third countries:

1. Algeria
2. Australia
3. Canada
4. Georgia
5. Japan
6. Montenegro
7. Morocco
8. New Zealand 
9. Rwanda
10. Serbia
11. South Korea
12. Thailand
13. Tunisia
14. Uruguay
15. China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity)

According to the recommendation, this list should be updated regularly.

The recommendation of the Council of the European Union is without prejudice to the responsibility that member states have to continue applying Article 6 of the Schengen Borders Code, which lays down the entry conditions for third-country nationals. Above all, it is the continued responsibility of member states to assess in each individual case whether the third-country national should be considered a public health risk.

The EU+ area includes all Schengen member states (including Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania) and four countries that have joined the Schengen Agreement. It also includes Ireland and the United Kingdom if they decide to implement this measure.

Entry to Estonia remains subject to the restriction that individuals arriving from European Union countries with an infection rate above 15 per 100 000 inhabitants in the past 14 days must remain in their place of residence or accommodation for 14 calendar days. Information on countries subject to the 14-day restriction on movement is available here

Read more about the recommendation of the Council of the European Union:

Additional information:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia
Communication Department

About Estonia

Get closer acquainted with Estonia, coming here for a visit, studies, business or investments!

Official Estonian Gateway

Get closer acquainted with Estonia and see what are the most important facts and main areas of activity here.

Digital Society

Estonia has
transformed itself into
one of Europe’s business success stories of the last decade, mainly thanks to the sophisticated e-solutions available here.