You are here

Updated information about countries and restriction on freedom of movement requirements for passengers arriving in Estonia, as of 24 July

24. July 2020 - 18:21

Based on the coronavirus infection rate, starting from Monday 27 July, a two-week restriction on freedom of movement will apply to people arriving in Estonia from Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Monaco, Luxembourg, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, and the Czech Republic.

Starting from next week, the restriction on freedom of movement will not apply to people travelling to Estonia if they arrive from Austria, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the Vatican City.

From the list of third countries agreed in the European Union, travelling to Estonia is possible from Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, South Korea, Rwanda, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay.

Information about countries and requirements is available on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs at

However, due to the spread of the coronavirus, the Foreign Ministry strongly advises against travel, except for European countries where the rate of infection is below 16 per 100,000 inhabitants in the past 14 days, and which do not entail the mandatory self-isolation on your return to Estonia.

When travelling, we advise keeping the following in mind:

• before planning your trip, please consult the Foreign Ministry website for the infection rate in your planned country of destination;
• find out about possible travel restrictions in your destination – please consult the Reisi Targalt website, the ReOpen portal of the European Union and, if necessary, contact the foreign mission of the country of destination for details;
• register your trip at the Foreign Ministry’s Reisi Targalt website, so we can notify you of possible travel restrictions;
• follow the recommendations of the Estonian Health Board (PDF) for safe air travel to protect your health and that of others – if you have any symptoms, please postpone your trip and contact your GP;
• take out travel insurance and carefully read the conditions of your insurance (including for travel disruptions caused by COVID-19);
• at your destination, follow the instructions of local authorities and keep up to date with possible new restrictions;
• on your return, follow the rules introduced in Estonia, monitor your health, and if you suspect you have been infected with the virus, contact your GP;
• please be aware that countries may change their conditions for entry and stay at a short notice. We recommend contacting the representation or the relevant authorities of your destination for more detailed information on the conditions in force there.

The restriction on freedom of movement means that a person may leave their place of residence or permanent place of stay within 14 days of their arrival in Estonia only on the instructions of a health care professional or a police officer; in the event of an emergency endangering a person’s life or health; or to obtain food, basic necessities and medicine.

Additional information:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia
Communication Department

About Estonia

Get closer acquainted with Estonia, coming here for a visit, studies, business or investments!

Official Estonian Gateway

Get closer acquainted with Estonia and see what are the most important facts and main areas of activity here.

Digital Society

Estonia has
transformed itself into
one of Europe’s business success stories of the last decade, mainly thanks to the sophisticated e-solutions available here.