United Nations Security Council Arria-formula meeting on the situation in Belarus


On Friday 8 October at 4 p.m. EST, an informal virtual meeting is held at the UN Security Council on the situation in Belarus, including the implications the continuing political crisis in the country has for international peace and security. The meeting is organised by UN Security Council members Estonia, France, Ireland, Norway, the United Kingdom, the United States, with additional co-sponsors Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine.


The meeting aims to highlight the deteriorating human rights situation in Belarus and the aggressive behaviour of Belarusian authorities against neighbouring countries. The meeting provides an opportunity to hear about these acts of transnational repression from first-hand sources.

Since the fraudulent presidential elections in Belarus on 9 August 2020, Alyaksandr Lukashenka’s regime has continued and intensified its repression against the Belarusian people. More than 35,000 people have been sentenced and detained. Nearly 5,000 of those detained have submitted complaints of being tortured and ill-treated by Belarusian authorities. The authorities have started more than 4,600 politically motivated criminal cases and there are now over 650 political prisoners. Fearing for their lives and livelihoods, more than 13,000 people have fled the country. A massive crackdown on human rights defenders, journalists and other media workers, as well as on political opponents and civil society organizations, is continuing with impunity. In August this year the authorities of Belarus decided to liquidate the Belarusian Association of Journalists. The ongoing campaign of political repression in Belarus is one of the largest in Europe in the last four decades. Participants in the peaceful pro-democracy movement, unprecedented in recent history of the country, have been punished by imprisonment, exile, intimidation, and abuse.

The debate will be chaired by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Estonia, H.E. Ms Eva-Maria Liimets.

The meeting will take place on Friday 8 october 2021 via video conference at 4.00 PM (EST). There will be statements by briefers and the UN Security Council members as well as by other UN member states. The meeting will be streamed live and is open to the public via UN WebTV, YouTube, Facebook and Twitter.

The meeting will be held in English and no simultaneous interpretation is offered.


  • Ms Ilze Brands Kehris, Assistant Secretary-General for Human Rights, Head of the UN Human Rights Office in New York.


  • Mr Artyom Shraibman, political analyst and scholar, founder of Sense Analytics
  • Mr Jens Modvig, Head of the International Accountability Platform for Belarus, input from Ms Victoria Fedorova, International Committee for the Investigation of Torture in Belarus
  • Ms Anna Maria Dyner, political analyst, the Polish Institute of Foreign Affairs


  1. Estonia, Minister of Foreign Affairs, H.E. Ms Eva-Maria Liimets  
  2. Latvia, Minister of Foreign Affairs, H.E. Mr Edgars Rinkevincs  (367.31 КБ, PDF)
  3. Lithuania, Vice-Minister, Dr. Mantas Adoménas (202.94 КБ, PDF)
  4. Canada, Minister of Foreign Affairs, The Honourable Marc Garneau 
  5. Slovenia, Minister of Foreign Affairs, H.E. Mr. Anže Logar  (293.2 КБ, PDF)
  6. Denmark, Minister of Foreign Affairs, H.E. Mr. Jeppe Kofod
  7. Greece, Minister of Foreign Affairs H.E. Mr. Nikos Dendias
  8. Poland, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, H.E. Mr Marcin Przydacz (630.81 КБ, PDF)
  9. United Kingdom, Minister for Europe and Americas, Ms. Wendy Morton MP
  10. Romania, Secretary of State, Mr Dan Neculăescu
  11. Slovakia, Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, H.E. Mr Ivan Korčok 
  12. Albania, Deputy Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs, Ms. Megi Fino (201.3 КБ, PDF)
  13. Czech Republic, Minister of Foreign Affairs, H.E. Mr Jakub Kulhánek (290.48 КБ, PDF)
  14. Ukraine, First Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, H.E. Ms Emine Dzhaparova 
  15. Australia, Permanent Representative, H.E. Mr Mitchell Fifield     (119.71 КБ, PDF)
  16. Ireland, Ireland, Deputy Permanent Representative, H.E. Mr Jim Kelly  
  17. Netherlands, Permanent Representative, H.E. Ms. Yoka Brandt (440.31 КБ, PDF)
  18. Italy, Deputy Permanent Representative, H.E. Mr. Stefano Stefanile
  19. Bulgaria, Permanent Representative, H.E. Ms Lachezara Stoeva 
  20. France, Deputy Political Coordinator, Mr. Wadid Banaabou
  21. Japan, Counsellor, Mr Ichiba Hiroaki
  22. Belgium, Deputy Permanent Representative, H.E. Mr. Karl Lagatie 
  23. Norway, Deputy Permanent Representative, Ms. Trine Heimerback 
  24. United States of America - Deputy Permanent Representative, H.E. Mr. Richard M. Mills, Jr. 
  25. Germany, Permanent Representative, H.E. Ms Antje Leendertse
  26. North Macedonia, Minister of Foreign Affairs of North Macedonia, H.E. Mr. Bujar Osmani  (184.18 КБ, PDF)'
  27. Austria
  28. Costa Rica
  29. Croatia
  30. Iceland
  31. Luxembourg
  32. Finland
2. India, Deputy Permanent Representative, H.E. Mr. Ravindra Raguttahalli
3. Mexico, Political Coordinator, Mr. Enrique Ochoa
4. China, Deputy Permanent Representative, H.E. Mr. Shuang Geng 


5. EU/EEAS, Deputy Secretary-General for Political Affairs, Mr. Enrique Mora
6. Belarus, Permanent Representative, H.E. Mr. Valentin Rybakov
7. Malta, Permanent Representative, H.E Ms. Vanessa Frazier
8. Liechtenstein, Permanent Representative, H.E. Mr. Christian Wenaweser
9. Venezuela, Deputy Permanent Representative, H.E. Mr. Joaquin Perez Ayestaran



Last updated: 3 January 2022

About Estonia

Get closer acquainted with Estonia, coming here for a visit, studies, business or investments!

Official Estonian Gateway

Get closer acquainted with Estonia and see what are the most important facts and main areas of activity here.

Digital Society

Estonia has
transformed itself into
one of Europe’s business success stories of the last decade, mainly thanks to the sophisticated e-solutions available here.